Nevada Nevada Will Laws



Here you will find what is required by state when making a living will. You will also find whether or not this specific state accepts oral or written wills.

Some key terms to keep in mind:

Testator: One who makes or has made a will; one who dies leaving a will.
Holographic Will: A will and testament that has been entirely handwritten and signed by the testator.
Oral Will: An oral will (or "nuncupative" will) is a will that has been delivered orally (that is, in speech) to witnesses, as opposed to the usual form of wills, which is written and according to a proper format.

State Requirements and Will Type Recognition

Code Section

133.020, et seq.

Operative Facts

  1. Declarant must be 18 years old. or older
  2. may designate another to make decisions governing withholding or withdrawing
  3. signed by declarant or another at declarants direction
  4. must have 2 witnesses
  5. sample form ยง449-610 and 449-613
  6. not operative if patient is known to be pregnant and live birth is probable
  7. declaration part of medical record

Age of Testator

18 years or older and of sound mind

Number of Witnesses Required

Attested by at least two competent witnesses subscribing their names to the will in presence of testator, unless electronic will.

Oral Will Recognition

Not recognized

Holographic Will Recognition

Valid if entirely written, dated, and signed in handwriting of testator. Can be made in or out of state and need not be witnessed; may dispose of all or part of estate, real or personal

** This Document Provided By Will Laws **