New Hampshire New Hampshire Will Laws

  New Hampshire


Here you will find what is required by state when making a living will. You will also find whether or not this specific state accepts oral or written wills.

Some key terms to keep in mind:

Testator: One who makes or has made a will; one who dies leaving a will.
Holographic Will: A will and testament that has been entirely handwritten and signed by the testator.
Oral Will: An oral will (or "nuncupative" will) is a will that has been delivered orally (that is, in speech) to witnesses, as opposed to the usual form of wills, which is written and according to a proper format.

State Requirements and Will Type Recognition

Code Section

551:1, et seq.

Operative Facts

  1. Declarant must be a person of sound mind, 18 years old. or older
  2. document signed voluntarily by declarant
  3. 2 subscribing witnesses not a spouse or heir at law
  4. upon request, physician shall made document part of medical record
  5. effective if person is permanently incapable of participating in decisions about his care
  6. suggested form ยง137-H:3
  7. not permitted when physician has knowledge that patient is pregnant

Age of Testator

18 years or older or married and of sound mind

Number of Witnesses Required

Attested and subscribed in testators presence and at request of testator by two or more credible witnesses.

Oral Will Recognition

Not valid where property exceeds in value $100, unless declared in presence of three witnesses, in last sickness, and in his usual dwelling (except where taken sick away from home and died before his return), or unless memo was reduced to writing within 6 days and presented to probate court within 6 months after making; also valid for soldier in actual military service or mariner or seaman at sea; may dispose of movables and personal estate.

Holographic Will Recognition

Not recognized

** This Document Provided By Will Laws **