Vermont Vermont Will Laws



Here you will find what is required by state when making a living will. You will also find whether or not this specific state accepts oral or written wills.

Some key terms to keep in mind:

Testator: One who makes or has made a will; one who dies leaving a will.
Holographic Will: A will and testament that has been entirely handwritten and signed by the testator.
Oral Will: An oral will (or "nuncupative" will) is a will that has been delivered orally (that is, in speech) to witnesses, as opposed to the usual form of wills, which is written and according to a proper format.

State Requirements and Will Type Recognition

Code Section

Tit. 14 §1, et seq.

Operative Facts

  1. Must be at least 18 years old
  2. must be of sound mind
  3. must be made in presence of 2 or more witnesses
  4. suggested form: §5253

Age of Testator

“Of age” (18 years) and of sound mind

Number of Witnesses Required

Attested and subscribed by 2 or more credible witnesses in presence of testator and in presence of each other.

Oral Will Recognition

Shall not pass personal estate over $200; not proved unless memo made in writing (by person present at making) within 6 days from making of will and presented for probate within 6 months from death of testator; soldier in actual military service or seaman at sea may dispose of wages and personal estate as he would at common law. Military wills under 10 U.S.C §1044d valid.

Holographic Will Recognition

Not recognized unless statutory formalities are satisfied. Military wills under 10 U.S.C §1044d valid.

** This Document Provided By Will Laws **